Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:05 pm
Posts: 51
Been playing Proquake for forever. Time to move on. Darkplaces? Where do you even download this stuff anymore?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2018 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 100
Hi Sprax

If I recall correctly you should be able to get the Darkplaces client from https://icculus.org/twilight/darkplaces/ . If you fancy trying Qrack you could try here - http://quakeone.com/qrack/
Some other engines you may find usefull...
FitzQuake
JoeQuake
Quakespasm
Quore
Tenebrae
TyrQuake

We also backed up a few Quake Engines / Clients on to http://quaketastic.com/?dir=files/clients

Hope this helps


Mr.Burns

_________________
Mr.Burns
WWW: http://www.nextgenquake.com | http://www.quaketerminus.com | EuroQuake, You Tube: QuakeVoid
Servers: newyork.servequake.com ports 26000-6 & 10 | damage.servequake.com
NEWS : Good news. NextGenQuake.com is back up and on the air.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:05 pm
Posts: 51
So the thing is, proquake 4.91 hangs when recording a demo, which is a problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 100
Hi Sprax
If I remember correctly the earlier versions didn't have the demo recording issue but something inevitably changed along the development path and a "bug" crept in. I reported the problem to Baker (the author) quite some time ago but I don't know if he ever got around to fixing it. You could always try alternative engines such as Qrack, or Quakespasm for recording your demos. As I understand it Quakespasm is probably quite close the original look and feel (if that's what you are looking for) and can be used for demo making such as these examples from Arrrcee - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... Cz5KF6HaJ9 .

Hope this helps

Kind regards
Monty

_________________
Mr.Burns
WWW: http://www.nextgenquake.com | http://www.quaketerminus.com | EuroQuake, You Tube: QuakeVoid
Servers: newyork.servequake.com ports 26000-6 & 10 | damage.servequake.com
NEWS : Good news. NextGenQuake.com is back up and on the air.


Last edited by Mr.Burns on Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2018 5:09 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1215
Location: New Jersey, USA
One of the reasons I like Dark Places is that it auto-records demos for me. Every time the level changes a new demo starts recording.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 100
Just out of interest, do you still play Slot? I haven't seen the name pop up on Shmack for quite a few years and was wondering if you still drop by and enjoy the fun. Is there an alias we should look out for ;)

Kr's
Mr.B

_________________
Mr.Burns
WWW: http://www.nextgenquake.com | http://www.quaketerminus.com | EuroQuake, You Tube: QuakeVoid
Servers: newyork.servequake.com ports 26000-6 & 10 | damage.servequake.com
NEWS : Good news. NextGenQuake.com is back up and on the air.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Different quake engine
PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1215
Location: New Jersey, USA
Burns: I haven't played in a while. If I do feel the urge, the server is usually empty so I just move on to something else. See what current games I play here.

Sprax: Try Mark V, it has all the features of ProQuake. Dunno if this bug is fixed though but worth a shot. See here for more info.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group