Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:19 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
ImageImageImage
Hello all,
It's been a while since I posted here so I thought I would bring what I hope will be good news to at least some of you.
First a bit of history: Many of the Old Skoolers might remember, a kind lady called PITA ran a server called FEAR (a great name for a quake server) a few years ago that hosted the RuneQuake Plus mod coded by Mr.Wifi/IEE. It was really fun mod and had some great people who used to play there. Sadly, as is the way of things the server was eventually closed and many of us reverted over to Shmack to get at least some sort of RuneQuake fix.

Well, Polarite has very kindly offered me a port on his New York servers to run a Random Mod and I thought it might be fun to resurrect one of my favourite mods, RQ+, and give it a new lease of life. So, if you are interested in a good natured game and want something a little different feel free to drop by the following server:
Quote:
newyork.servequake.com:26010

We've also added a simple, and as yet unfinished, web page (click here)so people can see what's available on the server and how to get playing.

I will say now that all the admins believe in the ideal that Quake servers should be a fun place to spend your time. So please play nice!!

Also, if I can get copy of Beatdown Alley (BDA) from Lefty/Dolemite then I will be occasionally rotating the mods on this port. We're receptive to constructive ideas as we'll see how this goes.

Kind regards

Monty


Last edited by Mr.Burns on Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:55 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 5:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
The server is up and running but I'm looking for a little qc guidance if someone would be kind enough to assist. I want to introduce 3 things to the serrver

  • allow players the ability to vote for maps as only vote-exit appears to be working
  • Allow players to vote for custom maps as these seem to be quite popular
  • include custom maps on the rotation

Would I be right in thinking that this can be done within settings.qc. Looking through the normal RQ code the following seems to be the appropriate place,
(Unfortunately I'm working away from home and can't refer to the RQP source to see if it is the same until I get back :( )

Update 20th Oct 2013 : The settings.qc does not appear to be in this release so I'm fishing around trying to find it

Code:
// By customizing this function you can dictate which maps the server
// will play. Change "TRUE" to "FALSE" to disallow a map. The only
// way a map which is set to "FALSE" here can be selected is via the
// `changelevel' and `map' server console commands.

float (string m)
user_allowed_map =
{
         if (m == "start"){ return TRUE ; } // Welcome to Quake
        else if (m == "e1m1") { return TRUE ; } // The Slipgate Complex
        else if (m == "e1m2") { return TRUE ; } // Castle of the Damned
        else if (m == "e1m3") { return TRUE ; } // The Necropolis
        else if (m == "e1m4") { return TRUE ; } // The Grisly Grotto
        else if (m == "e1m8") { return TRUE ; } // Ziggurat Vertigo
        else if (m == "e1m5") { return TRUE ; } // Gloom Keep
        else if (m == "e1m6") { return TRUE ; } // The Door To Chthon
        else if (m == "e1m7") { return TRUE ; } // The House of Chthon
        else if (m == "e2m1") { return TRUE ; } // The Installation
        else if (m == "e2m2") { return TRUE ; } // Ogre Citadel
        else if (m == "e2m3") { return TRUE ; } // Crypt of Decay
        else if (m == "e2m4") { return TRUE ; } // The Ebon Fortress
        else if (m == "e2m5") { return TRUE ; } // The Wizard's Manse
        else if (m == "e2m6") { return TRUE ; } // The Dismal Oubliette
        else if (m == "e2m7") { return TRUE ; } // Underearth
        else if (m == "e3m1") { return TRUE ; } // Termination Central
        else if (m == "e3m2") { return TRUE ; } // The Vaults of Zin
        else if (m == "e3m3") { return TRUE ; } // The Tomb of Terror
        else if (m == "e3m4") { return TRUE ; } // Satan's Dark Delight
        else if (m == "e3m5") { return TRUE ; } // Wind Tunnels
        else if (m == "e3m6") { return TRUE ; } // Chambers of Torment
        else if (m == "e3m7") { return TRUE ; } // The Haunted Halls
        else if (m == "e4m1") { return TRUE ; } // The Sewage System
        else if (m == "e4m2") { return TRUE ; } // The Tower of Despair
        else if (m == "e4m3") { return TRUE ; } // The Elder God Shrine
        else if (m == "e4m4") { return TRUE ; } // The Palace of Hate
        else if (m == "e4m5") { return TRUE ; } // Hell's Atrium
        else if (m == "e4m6") { return TRUE ; } // The Pain Maze
        else if (m == "e4m7") { return TRUE ; } // Azure Agony
        else if (m == "e4m8") { return TRUE ; } // The Nameless City
        else if (m == "end" ) { return TRUE ; } // Shub-Niggurath's Pit
        else if (m == "dm1" ) { return TRUE ; } // Place of Two Deaths
        else if (m == "dm2" ) { return TRUE ; } // Claustrophobopolis
        else if (m == "dm3" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Abandoned Base
        else if (m == "dm4" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Bad Place
        else if (m == "dm5" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Cistern
        else if (m == "dm6" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Dark Zone

        // Allow unknown maps.
        else
                return TRUE;
};


I'm guessing that I need to add extralines on the the first section along the lines of
Code:
        else if (m == "dm5" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Cistern
        else if (m == "dm6" ) { return TRUE ; } // The Dark Zone
        else if (m == "ultrav" ) { return TRUE ; } // Ultraviolence
        else if (m == "basewalk" ) { return TRUE ; } // Basewalk

and recompile, but if the mighty IEE/Slot/Dole/etc could point me in the right direction I would be grateful.

Many thanks

Monty


Last edited by Mr.Burns on Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: New Jersey, USA
That particular version (0.8.5) may not have the ability to vote directly for a map as it wasn't added until version 1.0.16. I think only admins and operators can change the map via admin changelevel menu.

For custom maps in the rotation, look in map-auto.qc of the rqpx-085 source.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Thanks for taking the time to reply, Slot. It really is appreciated especially as this is not directly your mod.

At the moment vote-exit works but nothing else seems to unless I remotely control the server, i.e. outside of the quake session

It was interesting to hear that there are later versions of RuneQuake Plus, I did look at the shambels site IEEE used to provide the mod previously and it now seemed to be a folk music site now, go figure :) If the later version of the RQP mod offers map voting (including custom maps) perhaps that might be a better option. With your vast knowledge of all things Rune do you have you any idea where this can be obtained from?
As it stands would I be correct in thinking the process would be as follows:
  • it is best practice to use your custom maps script* to determine which custom maps I want in the rotation, so load up the map details and generate the map-auto.qc file,
  • drop the map-auto.qc file in to the RQP source folder,
  • compile,
  • upload to newyork,
  • restart the server,
  • and go?


* For the benefit of others who may wish to do this at some point there is a helpful online map rotation script generator available at http://www.runequake.com/maps/script/.

Alternatively is it a difficult process to port the RQP runes across to the latest version of RQ. I'm just wondering if its a case of dropping in the runes qc file compile and go but I suppose such a newbie whacky idea would be too simplistic :D


Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:57 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: New Jersey, USA
Rune Quake Plus uses Rune Quake 0.8.5 source code as a base. I didn't add voting for maps directly until version 1.0.16 and I don't think IEEE synchronized his source since then so I doubt there are any later versions.

Looking at the rqp source, it seems as though he added custom maps, this is evident from map-auto.qc but it looks as though he did it manually so using the script generator won't work. I tried looking for some docs in his source but I didn't see anything.

The best solution would to be to consult IEEE, but not sure of his contact info.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Thanks for trying Slot. I'll play around with the rotation on the map-auto.qc and see if I can get something usable to work.

On the subject of the votemap, based on your experience, how easy would you expect it to be to port that in to the RQP code?

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 20, 2013 8:42 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: New Jersey, USA
Mr.Burns wrote:
On the subject of the votemap, based on your experience, how easy would you expect it to be to port that in to the RQP code?


I would expect it to be a tedious process consisting of copying, commenting, and compiling.

I vaguely remember Bam? putting together a tutorial for adding map voting to any mod, but I can't seem to find it in my archives. You might have better luck asking on the quakeone forum or maybe Baker remembers what I'm talking about.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
Someone skilled at QuakeC could probably add vote-map to RQP. But those kind of people are mighty rare these days.

The vote-map tutorial mentioned is: http://forums.inside3d.com/viewtopic.php?p=13216

That tutorial is for a mod without vote capability of any kind, with RQP it isn't going to play nice.

p.s.: I don't even have any real free time to pursue engine coding, which is my passion. And I've never been all that great with QuakeC. I guess I'm saying "Please don't even think of asking me for help". Maybe someone out there with actual QuakeC knowledge and coding skills (Cortex or someone?) would be the right kind of person to ask or even taking up the trade yourself or pleading in the quakeone forums for some retired expert is a plan? Askng for guidance at Inside3d is never a bad move -- but they will assume anyone asking questions is willing to get their hands dirty and self-help ... I'm just pointing out known info.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Thanks Baker,

I've got another option which I'm exploring with Polarite but I'll continue to try and glean what I can from the net and try Bam's tutorial just in case it can be used. It's often a minefield changing someone else's code as you're never 100% sure of how it's been structured and what the implications may be of implementing your change. It's probably a case of trial and error and just try to work through it :(
Just to be clear, the reason I was asking in the first place is that I wanted to learn a little so that I could do it myself rather than just get someone else to do it. However, I consider it sensible to canvas opinion and take on board any advice and helpful suggestions much more learned people such as those mentioned above plus yourself may offer. :)

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 6:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: New Jersey, USA
If your goal is to simply add standard map voting, you might find it easier to use the source code from RQ 1.0. You won't have the advance vote options that's in the current version, but you can vote for a specific map and the vote code shouldn't be that much different than in the rqp version.

html: https://github.com/slotzero/runequake/tree/v1_0

source: https://github.com/slotzero/runequake/releases/tag/v1_0

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 8:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2003 5:43 pm
Posts: 235
Location: North Carolina
Hello. I'm here and I've actually gotten back into coding. I'm planning on making a new version of the mod based on Slot's current code (with new or revisited ideas).

Tentatively I'm calling it Rune Quake Resistance.

I can see about integrating the voting code but I need a copy of the particular source you have as it seems my CD media has failed me over the years and throughout my travels.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 08, 2014 8:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Hi IEEE,
I'm glad to see you are coming back to QuakeC. We need all the talented developers and players we can get to keep it alive :)
It's also good news about the new mod you are working on I look forward to playing the hell out your new ideas in due course.
I'm working away from home at the moment but I'll be happy to try and connect in later today and attach it to this thread (assuming you're happy for me to do that and there are no restrictions on the board). Or would you prefer some other method such as email or anonfiles?

Edit : Attempt 1 failed, the board only allows a maximum of 256k to be attached :(. If you want to pm me your email I'm happy to send it back to you.
Edit2: Attempt 2 via email succeeded.

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 4:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Image
Just in case any of my fellow RQ'ers fancy a change of pace, I've rotated the Random mod port on the New York Server and RuneQuake Plus is back up and running after being on another mod for several months. It is currently in it's "out of the box" configuration at the moment so it will no doubt need a few tweaks and config changes but please feel free to join and have a bit of fun.

It is on the Quakeone.com server browser (look for the New York - Random server) but for those that like to connect manually simple open your console and type connect newyork.servequake.com:26010, then press return and you should be good to go. It is a server side mod so you shouldn't need to download anything although having a few of the more popular custom maps wouldn't be a bad thing.

I'm hoping that at some point IEEE might have an updated version (cough, RuneQuake Resistance, cough :) ) with map voting and so forth that we can use but time will tell I guess ;). I'd like to thank any other coders (you know who you are :) ) that may have contributed to any of the runes included in the mod as they can be good fun if used fairly.

I'd like to thank EZJack for the games last night which were a lot of fun. (sorry for my occasional use of the Touch of Death and Trojan runes but they are hard to resist and I did limit myself to 2 frags :))



Kind regards

Martin


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 1:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Hey guys,
Just trying to connect, is the server down?
Thanks in advance, EzJacK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 2:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Well I'll be. It was fine and dandy last night. But fear not I have notified the server owner and they are investigating so watch this space.

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Sounds good, thanks Monty....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 3:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
I'm reliably informed that the servers have been rebooted and should be back. Unfortunately I can't test it from this location but I'll give it a try later today and report back here. :)

Edit: IT'S BACK !!! :)

Kind regards

Monty


Last edited by Mr.Burns on Thu May 21, 2015 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 2:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:56 pm
Posts: 63
Location: Rocky Mountains (Boulder)
Have not seen Touch of Death / Trojan runes in 15 years!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2015 3:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
...And let's not forget the rocket splat and Personal Space runes :)

Has anyone been able to find the elusive flea rune yet? The only place I have seen it is on E3M2 "The Vaults Of Zin" but that was only thanks to IEE himself ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Plus is Back! Can it be?
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2015 10:00 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1202
Location: New Jersey, USA
I couldn't find Quadation rune.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group