Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:32 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2014 4:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:39 am
Posts: 113
Does Royal Assassin even hold conversations beyond his typical binds lol?

I've rarely seen the guy hold a conversation, mostly just binds... hehe

Will be updating Quakeone.com News about the changes shortly along side a News article for Amon26's 'In the Kingdom' game :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
Okee Dokee. I'm in.

I look forward to seeing you all there! :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
I was wondering if the hook is going to be set up the way it currently is on the server, or if it will be shmack style.

Thanks

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Hi Pie
If you go to newyork.quakeone.com port 26000 I have enabled hook voting so that people can practice on the server. If you type vote-hook in console, that is the hook you will normally get and I must be honest I hadn't noticed a difference :D . Is that not the hook you were after?

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 6:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
I know that you can use vote-hook to enable it, however that wasn't my concern. The hook seems to work slightly differently from shmack. When you fire you weapon, the hook lets go. So say for example I am hanging on a wall, and I shoot a rocket, I would drop. I don't know if its supposed to be like that or not, and I was just wondering if it would be that way for the tourny.

Thanks :D

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 23
Good work Burnsy. Really seems like you have put a lot into this. Thank you.

Royal eh? So great.

I wish he would post here so I could troll him so badly! LOLOL

Cheers all!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 23
Also, re: Hook... yeah Burns there is something different with the code on this server as opposed to Slot's server. The hook releases when you hit fire. I know it's a small thing but it will greatly affect my ability to play like I normally do too! (maybe that's good for some, but not for DEE!)
:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2014 7:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 9:39 pm
Posts: 73
Location: Victoria, B.C.
Hey everyone,
Looks like this is going to be fun times, glad everyone's checking out the server to work the bugs out. Burnsy, great job setting this all up, if there's anything one of us can do to help out let us know!
Cheers and happy hunting!
Thanks again EzJack


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 9:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Re - Tourney: Happy to help, and bear in mind Polarite and Peg have also contributed to this so I cant take all the credit. Hopefully it will be some sporting, good natured fun on the night :wink:

Re - Hook: I didn't build the server but as far as I am aware it's just the standard RQ mod from Slot. I seem to recall that there are 2 different hooks in RQ, namely a free hook and a lithium hook, which are controlled by the temp1 cvar, so it's not beyond the realms of possibility that the wrong hook has been selected by mistake although from my brief testing following a chat with EZJack the other night the hook seemed the same to me. I'll check the hook when I get in later tonight but the aim is to make it feel like the one on Shmack.

If there is anything else you guys (and girls) spot please let me know :)

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 12:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
Thanks a lot for looking into this Burns! :D There aren't any other gameplay problems for say, but me EzJack and Royal were testing out the server a while ago, and I think it crashed and restarted. Royal had shambler rune, and it went in telaporter and I got disconnected. I connected again, and runes and hook were gone, and voting were disabled. I hope we can work through these minor bugs and all have a fun RQ tourny! :D

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 23
Hmmm... yeah the hook settings are not the same. Because hook voting is disabled it's hard to say how. But if you are grappling a wall, and then engage your +attack the hook lets go.

Might I suggest we go with the "gold" standard from Slot's server:
-rotating armor
-spawn shields enabled
-hook acting normally :)
-runes enabled (duh)
-hook damage on or Royal will lose for sure
-mega health enabled
-shoot buttons enabled

Any other thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 3:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
Sounds good to me. Odd that you should mention that hook voting is disabled. If I am not mistaken, I was enabled when Jack Royal and I were there a little while ago. After the server crash or whatever it was, all voting (accept map voting) was disabled. Runes and hook has since returned but I didn't check to see if voting for them was.

-Happy quaking

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:01 pm 
Offline
deadzone.runecentral.com
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2003 5:27 am
Posts: 102
Location: Ontario, Canada
G'day Burnsy,

The issue with the hook is an easy one to fix if you haven't already done so. What folks are describing is the anti-camp code which makes the hook release when a weapon is fired.

To change it to the way Slot has it, open "settings.qc" and find this line:
Code:
float HOOK_CAMP_PROT      = 1;

Change it to:
Code:
float HOOK_CAMP_PROT      = 0;

Recompile and you're all set.

Cheers,

_________________
PK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
Hi PK
You sir are a gentleman! :)
I spent a fair part of last night ripping what's left of my hair out on FFANY trying to get the settings aligned, reading through Slots Config guide, and thinking what hell is causing the hook to release whenever I fire another weapon. I must be honest, I came to the same conclusion that there must be a difference in the compiled code base so I'll have a word with Pol, as he will probably have the original, and see if we can get an updated version ready for the Tournament.

Thank you once again PK, what would I/we do without you :o)

Kind regards

Monty
P.S. We're getting a pretty full server for the tourney but I'll add you to signup sheet on here and QuakeOne.com on the basis that there are still some spare slots and people often don't turn up anyway


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 3:31 pm 
Offline
deadzone.runecentral.com
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2003 5:27 am
Posts: 102
Location: Ontario, Canada
Glad I was able to help.

Sometimes the most frustrating issues are the easiest to fix. Sometimes. :)

Let me know if you need anything else. Still have a QuakeC compiler nearby somewhere.

_________________
PK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2014 2:56 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Hanging from a banana plant
I'd sign up for this tournament, but much too hardcore l33t for you n00bs. :wink:

(Truth is, my skill level is so bad the only way I could advance in the tournament is if the lowest frag score wins ...)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 8:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
Heya burns, and everybody. I don't know if this will be of any help, but I noticed that NY tourny server is running outdated RQ version. Don't know if this makes a difference, but thought I'd point that out (as if you didn't know that already :lol: ).

BOUNCY ROCKETS FTW!

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 5:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 89
We had a test session on Saturday and fortunately things seem to be working well. Some experienced RuneQuakers, approx 11 of them (!) , happened to jump on the server while were testing and whilst I'm sure it's not perfect, it is reasonably close to the Shmack experience, or at least it will be on the night.

My thanks to everyone for their input, especially Ez / Sara / Dee Killer / PK and the others who kept giving us helpful feedback on Saturday. My thanks also to Polarite for the use of his Quake Proxy which allows multiple spectators to view the action without being part of the game.

A word of caution, a certain "Royal" player appears to be practicing like a man possessed on those maps, so it should be an interesting night :)

Kind regards

Monty


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 3:46 pm
Posts: 23
Great stuff folks.

Burns, my ping ranges from 40 (Can you imagine?) to 112 on this server. It's usually one or the other and not in between. There is nothing crazy going on at my end. Just thought I would share and see if anyone else notices a huge diff at various times of day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RuneQuake Tournament?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2014 9:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2014 1:46 pm
Posts: 29
Location: Toronto Ontario
GODDAMNIT wish I hadn't missed test. Anyway, I look forward to Sat. Also, not that its important or anything, but would it be possible to post a list of participants? Thanks. And as for Royal, even without practice, he's gona be one of the top players I think. Gona be a good competition!

And Dee, as for the lag, I haven't had the spikes of ping, but I think some other people were getting that problem. IDK, cya at tourny!

Happy quaking all!

_________________
Sincerely SPF


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 54 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group