Rune Central
http://forums.runecentral.com/

connection
http://forums.runecentral.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=1777
Page 2 of 3

Author:  sarah [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 3:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Baker my maxfps is set to 250 which should be fine....Polarite told me to try 1024 in command line it did not help

Author:  Baker [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 4:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

sarah wrote:
Baker my maxfps is set to 250 which should be fine....Polarite told me to try 1024 in command line it did not help

Yeah, your problem doesn't sound like that was involved anyway.

So it's #2 which basically means DarkPlaces is what you will need to use as long as the connectivity thing keeps happening --- because a DarkPlaces client doesn't have to disconnect itself off a server for a brief communication hiccup like normal Quake clients do.

Author:  Sgt-PieFace [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

sarah wrote:
Baker my maxfps is set to 250 which should be fine


In some cases I think ProQuake and some other legacy engines can bug out if the FPS exceeds 72. To be safe maybe try capping it at 60 (which is what Darkplces runs at with vsync on) and see if that works. If not, then I guess you will need to use Darkplaces. See how those Darkplaces console commands I posted work out for ya.

Author:  Baker [ Thu Mar 03, 2016 5:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Sgt-PieFace wrote:
In some cases I think ProQuake and some other legacy engines can bug out if the FPS exceeds 72.
That only applies to single player physics, doesn't apply when connected to a server.

Author:  sarah [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 6:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Thank you all for trying to help............. was hoping it would work out but no change......... hope you all have fun on shmack is was fun for me .

Slot you did all you could thank you ....good luck.

Author:  Sgt-PieFace [ Fri Mar 04, 2016 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Well I hope to still see you around. Me gunm4n and Cobalt will continue to mess around and see if there's anything we can figure out, but sadly I personally am out of ideas.

I'll keep an eye out for you on other servers such as FFANY

Author:  Mr.Burns [ Thu Mar 10, 2016 7:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

A long standing player feeling that they can't continue is sad news indeed :(
The odd thing is that, as I understand it, Sarah could play all day on any other server in the US or europe using any engine without any problem (Sarah please feel free to jump in here if this is not the case). I've been on a number of "non-shmack" servers with Sarah and never seen her disconnected. In case it helps, I've observed the issue and she seems to have a 40ish ping for about 4 mins at which point it rocketed to 3688 and then disconnected her.
This could suggest that maybe the Server or the comms may be having an effect rather than just at the client end.

Perhaps it might be worth one of the admins looking on the server in case there is anything running on the server every 4 mins such as a script which may be having a knock on effect. With Gurus like Slot and PK on the scene this may well have already been done but you never know it might be worth a 2nd look :)

Or possibly [Sarah] liase with your ISP to see if they can shed any light on repeated disconnections. I know you mentioned a recent connection change so did that coincide with the Shmack connection problems occurring?

Either way I hope your problems get resolved soon.

Kind regards

Monty

Author:  steve [ Fri Mar 11, 2016 9:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

If it was a server issue, it would affect everyone, would it not?

Author:  Sgt-PieFace [ Fri Mar 11, 2016 11:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

steve wrote:
If it was a server issue, it would affect everyone, would it not?


Well it may not be an issue with the server, but a hop or switch that has to be passed in order to reach shmack. This could be a problem for some and not for others, depending on where the connect from.

Author:  Mr.Burns [ Fri Mar 11, 2016 8:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

steve wrote:
If it was a server issue, it would affect everyone, would it not?

I take your point but not necessarily, no. In my dim and distant past working at that time as a Network Engineer I have been called on to implement policing measures for companies to force what they consider redundant live or "blacklisted" disconnections to servers in order to optimise performance on their given service. I'm not suggesting for one minute that this is the case in this instance, but merely highlighting the fact that this does happen and that one user's experience on a server may not reflect that of all others.

As already ably pointed out by my good friend Pie above, there could be routing problems for this player or one device along it's many hops that could be the culprit. In any event, there would seem to be a lot of layers trying hard to support another player which is a positive thing and hopefully a solution can be found.

Kind regards

Monty

Author:  EzJacK [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Hey everyone,
Well after having no game play at all lately, not sure why.....I'm packing it in here! What a shame after all these years, I also agree with Monty, we can't afford to lose players. I enjoyed Sarah game play during the day, she was the only player on.....not to mention some other weirdo stuff happening here lately? I have played here from the start and helped support this server, but it's time to move along....thanks Slot for all the good times dude.....love ya!
Ez

Author:  sarah [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:21 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Ez dont leave we need you here and you are one of the best people on this server for playing as well as personality ...........we will all be sad if you do I assure you!

Author:  Sgt-PieFace [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

sarah wrote:
we will all be sad if you do I assure you!


Ditto X2.

#DontGoEz

Author:  SaToon [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Well what is going on?

Getting strange packet losses on Shmack that didn't happen before player Sarah's problems began. Using client Qrack and was fine until a month ago when slide show lag started occurring. Also noticed someone coming online just to ride me then would leave. This went on for a week or two at about same time as they had been riding Sarah. Nobody had done that to me before. Others are experiencing similar odd connect issues, so is there a conspiracy and more importantly is this how it all ends?

The below demo is just a minute or two and shows skipped frames, freezing/locked up, hanging on corners and shows ping jumping up to 1200 at 11:07 mark.

Don't want players giving up. Just my .02

Attachments:
mydemo3-11-16.dem [576.99 KiB]
Downloaded 117 times
Ping 1100-2300.jpg
Ping 1100-2300.jpg [ 33.01 KiB | Viewed 2890 times ]

Author:  SaToon [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 5:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Sgt-PieFace wrote:
sarah wrote:
we will all be sad if you do I assure you!


Ditto X2.

#DontGoEz



Pie I can't believe you are here instead of in bed. But since your up do you think this a router issue?

Attachments:
quit talking down to me.jpg
quit talking down to me.jpg [ 51.42 KiB | Viewed 2890 times ]

Author:  Sgt-PieFace [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 6:32 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

SaToon wrote:
Pie I can't believe you are here instead of in bed. But since your up do you think this a router issue?


Hey its spring break man! Lol.

From what I can tell and from talking with gunm4n and Cobalt, I don't think its an issues with anybody's personal router, but a hop that certain players have to make. Gunm4n identified a hop that was timing out for him, as he was having connection troubles that day. It was a hop that he had to make, but I didn't. Me, gunm4n, and Cobalt all pinged the IP of that hop with 20 packets. We both got 2 timeout, which is a 10% packetloss. This could account for hanging on edges and skipped frames. However, Sarah's problem is slightly different (I think). It is related though from what I can tell. She may be going through multiple hops that are bad, cause legacy engines, such as ProQuake to totally drop the connection. This, I think, is why she can stay connected with Darkplaces. Darkplaces handles 'blips' in connection loss much better. I have seen her ping spike to 1000+ which indicates temporary connection loss (such as a bad hop, or hop time out).

So here's what you can both do: Open up cmd and type 'tracert quake.shmack.net' (without the quotes). Give cmd some time to ping each hop. This will allow you to see what hops your connection has to make to get to shmack.

Important: Do not spam a server with ping requests. I would suggest no more than two rounds of 20 pings before waiting significant time, as in some cases pings can be mistaken for DOS attacks

Now, excluding local IPs (like you modem/router) you can send packets to each hop to check for packet loss. I would put this in CMD: ping -n 20 'insert ip'
So for example: ping -n 20 204.93.204.153 (this is a hop I make on the way to shmack) and this is what I got:

Pinging 204.93.204.153 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=66ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=52
Reply from 204.93.204.153: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=52

(there will be more info in cmd like avg ping etc.) I make the txt file of my ping results by doing this in cmd: ping -n 20 204.93.204.153>> c:\users\Username\Desktop\Test.txt -t

If y'all want to ping all your hops with: 'ping -n 20 'insert ip'>> c:\users\username\Desktop\'filname'.txt -t' (without quotes) you could post anything that times out here and I could ping it (as I am not having theses issues) and we could see if theres a bad hop.

Hope we can get this sorted!

Author:  Gem [ Sat Mar 12, 2016 10:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Alright, nobody is going anywhere hehe

I have been crying about the lag for a long time lol and now it seems more and more are experiencing it. If anyone watched the demo, it is a weird thing how after SaToon's ping balloons up, then the lag goes to the player beneath him.. lol as if it's passed down to the next player. That is clearly unplayable for SaToon

I have to play very controlled (which is way stressful) and sometimes it doesn't fire, in any case , this reduces the fun a lot, because if I make one mistake, its over :( The players are not solid on my screen, they look more like fuzzy shadows, so its tough to see where they are or where they are going

Fortunately for me, I have not experienced the kind of lag SaToon has because then I wouldnt be able to play at all, already how it is, and as I mentioned before, I spike all the way to 84 from 65, I think, every 4 seconds, and that is a constant thing for me - the unstable, bad ping.

I wish this would get resolved soon, and we can all resume the normal fun. Thanks :)

Author:  Killa [ Wed Mar 16, 2016 11:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Sarah-- I would suggest a couple of things.

1: Are you double NAT? Meaning you have a modem/router combo that is a DHCP server running into another router assigning a different subnet.
2. Change your MTU settings on whatever router you're using. If you provide me the router model I can look up instructions. Changing my MTU from 1400 to 1500 fixed my spikes previously.

I did a tracert and I am 14 hops.

Author:  Gem [ Thu Mar 17, 2016 6:34 am ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

hey I just wanna say that now my ping is from 84-90+, no longer lower... sorry to say

this ping disease lol or whatever it is has reached me too (just kidding). Is the server located in chicago?btw. (i think, i slightly remember someone saying that) I ping about the same to the ny one, ffany.. so i know its not me. how could I ping pretty bad to shmack which is geographically closer than ny?.. just making an observation here, there must be something screwed up along the way

Oh I just remembered, Davers, a quake player here, has mentioned that a faulty network card on the server could be inducing these lag problems for everyone, as well as the wiring (as he had a similar problem), so maybe that could be looked into, changed or tested. I think his diagnosis was brilliant. I told him to come here and register and say this but he didnt make it yet

Thanks all

Author:  Killa [ Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: connection

Gem wrote:
hey I just wanna say that now my ping is from 84-90+, no longer lower... sorry to say

this ping disease lol or whatever it is has reached me too (just kidding). Is the server located in chicago?btw. (i think, i slightly remember someone saying that) I ping about the same to the ny one, ffany.. so i know its not me. how could I ping pretty bad to shmack which is geographically closer than ny?.. just making an observation here, there must be something screwed up along the way

Oh I just remembered, Davers, a quake player here, has mentioned that a faulty network card on the server could be inducing these lag problems for everyone, as well as the wiring (as he had a similar problem), so maybe that could be looked into, changed or tested. I think his diagnosis was brilliant. I told him to come here and register and say this but he didnt make it yet

Thanks all


Actually I haven't had any problems.. ping is always 58-63ms and 0 packet loss and no lag that I can tell.

Here is my tracert

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms router.asus.com [192.168.1.1]
2 20 ms 31 ms 23 ms cpe-75-87-128-1.kc.res.rr.com [75.87.128.1]
3 31 ms 32 ms 31 ms tge0-0-5.ovpmks4801h.kc.rr.com [98.156.46.6]
4 22 ms 24 ms 18 ms agg31.ksczmogn01r.kc.rr.com [98.156.42.124]
5 31 ms 33 ms 36 ms agg36.dllatxl301r.kc.rr.com [98.156.42.126]
6 37 ms 39 ms 39 ms bu-ether14.dllstx976iw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.88]
7 35 ms 36 ms 35 ms 0.ae2.pr1.dfw10.tbone.rr.com [107.14.17.236]
8 35 ms 29 ms 127 ms dls-bb1-link.telia.net [213.248.93.189]
9 59 ms 60 ms 55 ms chi-b21-link.telia.net [80.91.248.208]
10 57 ms 55 ms 55 ms servercentral-ic-312764-chi-b21.c.telia.net [62.115.58.30]
11 61 ms 59 ms 65 ms ae4.cr1.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.85]
12 59 ms 51 ms 62 ms 71.ae1.ar2.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.157]
13 59 ms 64 ms 62 ms 42.irb.aggrFW185-1.ord6.us.scnet.net [204.93.204.103]
14 55 ms 48 ms 45 ms unknown.servercentral.net [206.51.245.84]

Trace complete.

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/