Rune Central
http://forums.runecentral.com/

Thoughts
http://forums.runecentral.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1101
Page 2 of 3

Author:  Baker [ Sat Apr 29, 2006 9:44 am ]
Post subject: 

RocketGuy wrote:
yes i did, i've tested it to work fine a while ago.. the command is called "radar".


I couldn't remember. We had a lot of stuff going on. :D

Author:  Baker [ Wed May 03, 2006 8:40 am ]
Post subject: 

The map you need ....

http://www.quakeone.com/q1files/downloa ... /intro.zip

Author:  Baker [ Sat May 06, 2006 1:01 pm ]
Post subject: 

Correct temp1 = 1138828

Was 1134732 = 6 players

Now 1159308 = 12 players

Author:  Baker [ Mon May 08, 2006 3:45 am ]
Post subject: 

Jump height ... can it be 10% higher? (med, ac)

Code:
a3             Gold key spawn/trigger issue
add            Could use more monsters, hipnotic replacement instead of nullifying?
colony         coop spawn points not used?
could          ending weirdness? 
insomnia       overflow on later level
dilcoa         Does it still get ending issues?
ac             can't seem to jump high enough
med            Can't jump out of pool?
evildead       Make teleporter go back to start if not enough monsters?
jjspq3         The lift ... it's a non-issue actually
kjsp1          Can it be completed?
lunar          Needs exit = big teleporter = exit
lunar2         Teleporter at launch pad or megahealth?
rc3            Overflow ... needs gib filter
lunar, lunar2  Needs exits
sm57           Weird key problem?
spd            The trigger once teleporter?
trincasp2      Wind Tunnel issue in deathmatch
wolf3ddm       Needs an exit

/me note: 24 bit textures for intro.bsp screenshots, need to make

1. Singularity not enough ammo message after death/respawn
2. Medic cure fire?
3. rpgsm32 .. Gold key room/bars
4. Sometimes monsters are self-gibbed on spawn, custom engine issue? Same problem as #3?
5 Mysterious conjoined twins problem .. same as #3?
6 Only 119 skill 3 monsters on ant, but we get 128 in RQuake? Same as #3?
7 Annoying jumping height issue (middle evil fountain, ac map)
8 Reset level to intro on last player disconnect
9 0 or 1 cells/rockets issue .. not big deal

Note = Some people have expressed interest in running this on their server.

Author:  RocketGuy [ Mon May 08, 2006 8:23 am ]
Post subject: 

(maybe more than )half of these problems are caused by my host not using the modified engine when he was changing the cmd line.

Author:  Baker [ Tue May 09, 2006 12:21 am ]
Post subject: 

Sometimes, if I shoot bombs it crashes the server as of lately. Just FYI

Plus something feels wrong, maybe it's in my head, is the system ticrate different? I feel only what I can describe as mild lag holding me back just a little, a slightly noticeable lack of smoothness.

Author:  RocketGuy [ Tue May 09, 2006 8:58 am ]
Post subject: 

Baker wrote:
Sometimes, if I shoot bombs it crashes the server as of lately. Just FYI

i reviewed the server logs, sunday-today and i couldn't find any evidence of this.

Author:  Baker [ Tue May 09, 2006 6:21 pm ]
Post subject: 

RocketGuy wrote:
Baker wrote:
Sometimes, if I shoot bombs it crashes the server as of lately. Just FYI

i reviewed the server logs, sunday-today and i couldn't find any evidence of this.


I just had it do it again. I'll show you tomorrow morning. Doesn't happen too often, but sometimes it seems to. I couldn't tell you the pattern, but I can probably reproduce the issue again.

Also: I still can't jump high enough to make Wind Tunnel in trincasp2. I did an experiment and started the map in single player and played around with sv_gravity variable. The jumping height on the server appears to be about the equivalent of sv_gravity 1200, not a big difference but very noticeable on a small handful of maps like Antediluvian where the platforms are just barely jumpable to begin with.

Author:  Baker [ Wed May 10, 2006 11:43 pm ]
Post subject: 

Notes

Quote:
lunar works great
wolfdmm3 works great
jump height issue is fixed
Monsters/secrets/time elapsed looks great


This I've noticed

Quote:
CMC has some bars that trap a player in final area. If the player dies, no one else can enter.

Might be nice if Radar and Shield display recharge seconds until next use, when you cannot use them

Might be nice if when a player gets a key, that it prints to everyone's console so everyone knows that someone got a key, hehe. Last night, I was trying to get a key, only to discover that someone else had already opened the gold key door, heh.

Might be nice if Radar indicates the powerup each player is holding. This really isn't necessary, but it would be cool.


And that's it!! I notice that when you exit a level, it says Secrets 0/0 (21493939%) when there are no secrets.

Author:  Baker [ Sat May 13, 2006 11:00 am ]
Post subject: 

Thoughts/Changes

Quote:
Promode ... remove RQuake and version # from that
Change promode format to __034/074 or E_074/074 with E bronzed when minimum kills is reached. Also add # of seconds in format 0000 s to promode.

Baker research ... figure out how, if possible, to print the sys_ticrate to ensure physics are the same from server to server.

End of map: make sure deathmatch, sv_aim, sys_ticrate, scratch1, temp1, teamplay variables all print out at the end of a map that ends the proper way. Also, if possible, have it print the name of the server and the RQuake version number too.

Radar to 5 second limitation

Respawn in same place as death has been fixed. Right? (I had the problem again so if it is, it isn't updated on the server yet).

Baker research: Find out how to have the server change map back to intro after last player leaves. The server really does need to revert to intro map if everyone leaves instead of having a complete newbie in the middle of a tough map if he connects and no one is there (that person won't know how to change to the intro map, nor necessarily know there is an intro map).

Add # frags next to each player at the end of map output next to each player name if possible

I notice that if I am the only one on the server, I tend to spawn somewhere other than info_player_start, but if I die I tend to correctly spawn at info player start when possible.

Author:  Baker [ Sun May 14, 2006 1:39 am ]
Post subject: 

I noticed if you use the silver key, it says "Player used the gold key"

Author:  RocketGuy [ Mon May 15, 2006 9:34 am ]
Post subject: 

all done

Author:  Baker [ Mon May 15, 2006 4:54 pm ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
Using silver key says opened GOLD key door.
Says RuneQuake vote to change to something when doing vote-speedrun
End of map data is printing on vote-exit too, should only be when exit (trigger_changelevel) teleporters are being used.


Also need to research a way to print 10:18 instead of 998 seconds. I know I can basically write that QuakeC code.

Goes something like this ....

Minutes = floor(time_in_seconds/60)
Seconds = time_in_seconds - (minutes * 60)

// minutes now = 9
// seconds = 58

Maybe a special effect on keycard models that are actual keys like ef_brightfield to distinguish them from non-keys

Author:  Lardarse [ Tue May 16, 2006 2:01 am ]
Post subject: 

Baker wrote:
Also need to research a way to print 10:18 instead of 998 seconds. I know I can basically write that QuakeC code.

Goes something like this ....

Minutes = floor(time_in_seconds/60)
Seconds = time_in_seconds - (minutes * 60)

// minutes now = 9
// seconds = 58

More accurately:

Code:
// Time printing code by "Lardarse" Gregory R. Payne
// Based on the method used in CG_DrawTimer in the Q3 source code
// All variables here are floats, apart from s, which is a string
seconds = floor(time);
minutes = floor (seconds / 60);
seconds = seconds - (minutes * 60);
tenseconds = floor(seconds / 10);
seconds = seconds - (tenseconds * 10);
// You can do further steps here if you want the decimal places to be printed.
// Get the fractional part of time, and then strip the digits out one at a time
// The "QdQstats" progs by the SDA team goes out to 5 decimal places, but 3 should be more than plenty.

bprint("Time: ");
s = ftos(minutes);
bprint(s);
bprint(":");
s = ftos(tenseconds);
bprint(s);
s = ftos(seconds);
bprint(s);
bprint("\n");


Quote:
Maybe a special effect on keycard models that are actual keys like ef_brightfield to distinguish them from non-keys

I told you about that when you invited me over for a test! You could give the "runes" particle trails for another interesting effect.

Quote:
I notice that when you exit a level, it says Secrets 0/0 (21493939%) when there are no secrets.

Easily avoidable. Just force the percentage to be 0 if either found_secrets or total_secrets is 0.

Quote:
Baker research ... figure out how, if possible, to print the sys_ticrate to ensure physics are the same from server to server.

ticrate = cvar("sys_ticrate");

That will read any cvar from the server that holds a number.

Any more, and you know how to find me... ;-)

Author:  Baker [ Tue May 16, 2006 2:05 am ]
Post subject: 

Thanks for the help on the time conversion procedure, Lardarse. Yeah, you mentioned the key thing a couple of weeks ago, a few minutes before you did the cool grenade jump with 150 ping :D

Hey, any thoughts on how to make to map revert to a designated map, in the case of coop.runequake.com:26003 that would be intro.bsp, when the last player leaves the server?

Author:  Lardarse [ Tue May 16, 2006 2:28 am ]
Post subject: 

Do this once every frame:

Code:
// emptyserver and reverttime should be global floats
local entity e;
e = find(world, classname, "player");
if (e) {
   emptyserver = 0;
} else {
   if (emptyserver) {
      if (reverttime > time) changelevel("intro");
   } else {
      emptyserver = 1;
      reverttime = time + 120;
   }
}

Author:  Lardarse [ Tue May 16, 2006 4:12 am ]
Post subject: 

End stats aren't displayed when shub dies...

Theres some XP bug that was giving us silly amounts, for some reason.

And WTF did you do to shubby ???

Author:  Baker [ Tue May 16, 2006 4:21 am ]
Post subject: 

We killed 2 Shubs and another player joined AFTER (like maybe 3 maps later) and he was automatic level 10 with 1500+ XP

(I think LardArse likes the Shub -- btw, he voted for END map immediately after doing rpgsmse5.)

Author:  RocketGuy [ Tue May 16, 2006 9:28 am ]
Post subject: 

Lardarse wrote:
And WTF did you do to shubby ???

made her an actual threat? :P

Author:  RocketGuy [ Tue May 16, 2006 9:36 am ]
Post subject: 

Quote:
Quote:
I notice that when you exit a level, it says Secrets 0/0 (21493939%) when there are no secrets.

Easily avoidable. Just force the percentage to be 0 if either found_secrets or total_secrets is 0.

i fixed that long ago.
Quote:
Quote:
Baker research ... figure out how, if possible, to print the sys_ticrate to ensure physics are the same from server to server.

ticrate = cvar("sys_ticrate");

That will read any cvar from the server that holds a number.

that's what i'm using right now. it seems ftos is not compatible with numbers below 0.1.

Page 2 of 3 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/