Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:57 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Louisville, Ky
This isnt really runequake, but I was hoping maybe slot could help me since he has done this. Or maybe someone else can. Its been a really long time since I've done any QuakeC and I hardly remember any of it. So, go easy on me.
Im working on a Classic Deathmatch FFA mod. The only thing Ive done to the quake source is add a MOTD.
I want to make the server change levels according to size and how many people are on the server. I looked in the Runequake's source's map-auto.qc But it seems like there is a lot going on there.
One of the main things I need to know is do I make it check how many players are on the server?
Then I might be able to work from there.

_________________
E-Mail: EHof1@hotmail.com
AIM: EMHof1
FFA.QuakeOne.Com
SpeakNow.QuakeOne.Com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:29 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1205
Location: New Jersey, USA
Examine select_map() in map.qc. From there you will see that the level size is determined in pick_map_size(), also in map.qc. The actual code used to determine number of players is done from count_players() in rjs.qc.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Louisville, Ky
Is there not an easier way to do it? Remember, Im a newb anymore. I keep getting confused. I go in with confidence and come out minutes later wondering what I was thinking. But Im trying. =\

_________________
E-Mail: EHof1@hotmail.com
AIM: EMHof1
FFA.QuakeOne.Com
SpeakNow.QuakeOne.Com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
Dreadful, why not just use RuneQuake as your base. It does FFA deathmatch better than Quake ever did and with just a couple of additions to the server.cfg, it IS free-for-all deathmatch right out of the box.

* Never spawn point issues
* Observer system
* Full built-in voting system (maps, quad on/off, pent on/off, team damage on/off, ring on/off)
* EFF command built-in
* Countless options
* 100% bug-free with several years of testing
* pq_teamscores support

It can do regular FFA deathmatch and match mode ...

* vote-match
* timeset (set time limit, votable)

And it supports practice mode and rocket arena.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Louisville, Ky
Well, it kind of gives me something to work on. Plus, I wanted to have it as close to possible as classic dm to give players that feel of the first years they were playing it. I think that maybe if we can draw some new players or people that played quake online the first several years it was out, they could start there or at least play there every so often to satisfy their memories.
I just want it to be modern with vote-map, auto map to the number of players on the server, and an observer mode.
Maybe a couple other simple things along the way.
BTW, I made it play the knight pulling out his sword sound whenever someone connects to then server now. SHWING!
It has a DNS now too.
FFA.QuakeOne.Com

_________________
E-Mail: EHof1@hotmail.com
AIM: EMHof1
FFA.QuakeOne.Com
SpeakNow.QuakeOne.Com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2003 9:04 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Louisville, Ky
Oh well. I added a vote to change map code. So now you can just vote to change the map until you get one that best suits the amount of players. My only problem now is aliasing impulse 100 to vote-exit. =\

_________________
E-Mail: EHof1@hotmail.com
AIM: EMHof1
FFA.QuakeOne.Com
SpeakNow.QuakeOne.Com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Map size and player number
PostPosted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 1:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
By Bam ...

Image

I've used Bam's tutorial 5 times. First to test it, second to document it and third to try it with 3 different mods (I used standard progs 106, original rocket arena by whoever made Rocket Arena back in 1997 and some other mod).

The tutorial is not difficult, works flawless and can be done in 20 minutes or less.

I'm a vote-map ultra-zealot. Nothing is as bad as being stuck on a server on an inappropriate map and having no way to change it.

An example of a mod that really suffers this problem is Slide, for instance. If you are an impossible Slide map, you have to get 50 points to go to the next map ... which is nearly impossible on an impossible map, of course. Same goes for CTF.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group