Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Practice Mode -> Normal Mode weapon inventory fix...
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:59 pm 
Offline
quake.intertex.net
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Kansas City!
In --
change_mode_to_normal
add:
starve_players();
before:
&%368 = -1;

create:
Code:
   
void () starve_players =
{
   local entity temp;

   temp = self;
   self = find (world, classname, "player");
   while (self)
   {
      self.items       = (IT_SHOTGUN | IT_AXE | IT_HOOK);
      self.health       = 100;
      self.armorvalue    = 0;
      self.ammo_shells    = 0;
      self.ammo_nails    = 0;
      self.ammo_rockets    = 0;
      self.ammo_cells    = 0;
      self.weapon       = 1;
      self.armortype       = 0;
      self.weaponmodel    = "progs/v_shot.mdl";
      self.weaponframe    = 0;      

      self = find (self, classname, "player");
   }
   self = temp;
};


Description:

If playing in Practice mode, then voting to normal players respawn with all weapons.
This will revert their inventory back to "normal".


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 5:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
I tried to mimic CRMod++ as best as I could. So keeping your weapons when you switch from practice to normal is intentional.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 7:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:44 pm
Posts: 198
Since the two are entirely different games, I think it's more sensible for the weapons, ammo and armor to be reset when switching from practice to normal mode.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 10:42 am 
Offline
quake.intertex.net
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Kansas City!
Honestly I think it was an oversight on JP.G's part, as going from practice to match mode forces everyone into observer mode (thus resetting the weapons). I was just thinking of the poor saps that join the game at the time of intermission that dont get the full inventory on map change. :shock:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 4:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
In normal mode, all players retain their weapons, ammo, armor, health, and rune during intermission. In fact, this happens every time you join a FFA (normal) game regardless of when you enter it. If you connect to any FFA server, it's possible someone might have full ammo, armor, maybe even a powerful rune, yet you wouldn't consider yourself a poor sap when you connect with standard parms, would you? It's just the nature of a FFA game.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:03 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
By the way, the server has the ability to reset parms after level change. Would you like me to configure the server on 26002 this way?

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 5:37 pm 
Offline
quake.intertex.net
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Kansas City!
No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change. I thought at was a single player left-over effect, (thought it might be). IMHO, when a new game starts, reset the weapons. The "Ranking" screen shows winner, game over. New map, new game. If it is already a setting then dont worry. Each sys0p can alter it to his/her preference. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2005 6:24 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
Maybe I should make it a vote option?

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:14 pm 
Offline
QUIT: March 06, 2006

Joined: Sat Mar 08, 2003 11:55 am
Posts: 231
sputnikutah wrote:
No, I wasn't aware that all deathmatch 1, ffa servers retained their weapons after map change...



They don't. At SINGED you lose your weapons and rune when the map changes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 114
I like that on shmack servers players retain items on map change (It's nice too that singed isn't exactly like shmack with items reseting on map change and non-rotating armor).

But I don't see why it's a good idea to retain a full compliment of weapons when switching from practice to normal mode though. The whole reason to switch is so you don't have them. Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem. It goes like this:
"Lets play in normal mode"
"Hey we still have all our weapons/ammo"
"Ok type kill in console"
"Oops I picked up my full pack I dropped when I suicided"
"Dammit, ok, vote to restart level..."

Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:51 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
yellow#5 wrote:
Whenever I've played a game on 26002 and we wanted to set the mode to normal, it's always a problem.


I'll look into it right now.

yellow#5 wrote:
Also, how come 26002 doesn't default back to dm6 anymore? Was that changed?


The server is setup to always play the same level over and over, unless someone changes it. I spawn it on DM6, but it doesn't reset automatically to it.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 7:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
What Yellow says ^^^^ (all of it) heheh

Every time anyone 1 on 1's at 26002 with practice mode OFF, it takes like 3 attempts to get stuff right. Kill self, oops other guy still has stuff, he kills self. Oops I grabbed his backpack.

Much easier if switching practice mode off took care of removing inventory and setting health and armor.

*cough* need match mode so we can get some tournament action going */cough*


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2005 8:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1255
Location: New Jersey, USA
I just added match mode. Use vote-match instead of vote-normal.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 43 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group