Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 11:35 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 12:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:29 am
Posts: 106
Location: Tennessee
My webhost closed all ports for security reasons. I no longer can display the status of my servers on my webpage. Could someone set up a page for me that I can link to? Toss an add for your site at the bottom, take credit, but help me out. My Server Status link in my sig doesn't show you crap. I can get some server infor from differant sites, but to have one page to display them all would be much better.

I need them for all of the following servers. If you can handle them all, please let me know...

66.43.172.60:26000 Quake1 quake.msmcs.net:26000
66.43.172.60:27500 QuakeWorld qw.msmcs.net:27500
66.43.172.52:27910 Quake2 quake2.msmcs.net:27910
66.43.172.52:27960 Quake3Arena quake3.msmcs.net:27960
66.43.172.60:7777 Unreal Tournament ut.msmcs.net:7777

_________________
Image
Craving for Fragging? Visit: MSM Servers Status


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1219
Location: New Jersey, USA
Do you have a script already made up? If not, I can whip up something simple like I did for Singe's server (example). I already include the quake/quakeworld and q3 servers on my servers page.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 10:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:29 am
Posts: 106
Location: Tennessee
I used a PostNuke PHP script that ran within my website, but now my webhost won't allow me to pullinfo from an outside source & display it.

Just something simple. A logo on top with a link to my site, the servers listed like they are on your site looks just fine. Possigble a black background with red letters to sorta match my site. I can send you the maps images for Q2 and UT if needed. Then the footer with your credits on it. I just would like to have a Live diplay of the server, who's on it, and the map its currently on.

If its small enough, I maybe able to display your page within my PostNuke site. Sorta like this page within a page...

http://www.dxradioworld.com/index.php?m ... &page=dxts

I would hate to take the servers down couse I can't advertise them anymore. Would like to try to keep them known & active.

Here is a good logo... Image

_________________
Image
Craving for Fragging? Visit: MSM Servers Status


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 2:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1219
Location: New Jersey, USA
Spitfire wrote:
I used a PostNuke PHP script that ran within my website, but now my webhost won't allow me to pullinfo from an outside source & display it.


If you can come up with a script of your own, I'll run it, otherwise I can offer you the simple script I showed earlier. I'm curious though, why can't you run your website on the servers you host the games on?

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Sun Jan 13, 2008 6:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
Slot Zero wrote:
I'm curious though, why can't you run your website on the servers you host the games on?


Web servers take up a lot of resources. Kind of unwise to host one when you have game servers on the same box.

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 8:29 am
Posts: 106
Location: Tennessee
Canadian*Sniper wrote:
Slot Zero wrote:
I'm curious though, why can't you run your website on the servers you host the games on?


Web servers take up a lot of resources. Kind of unwise to host one when you have game servers on the same box.


What he said. I got two PC's sitting on a T3. You can tell by the IP on what one's run what game servers. Thats all they do. Thats all I want them to do, cuts down on lag. All I need to do is show live stats for my servers. I would hate to use my servers for that also & my webhost closed all ports blocking me from gathering data and displaying it from an outside source. This includes displaying live stats on my teamspeak server.

Let me work on something simple when I get some free time.

_________________
Image
Craving for Fragging? Visit: MSM Servers Status


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Looking for hosting help.
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 3:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1219
Location: New Jersey, USA
You have a T3 and host your website elsewhere?

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group