Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:27 pm
Posts: 214
I need some suggestions on 'pimping' my config out for Quake.

I need some cool RQ binds, like how to bind teh 'f' key to toggle special weapons on and off etc.

Code:
//
// load keybindings
//
// commands with a leading + will also be called for key up events with
// the + changed to a -
unbindall

//
// character controls
//

bind   ALT            +strafe

bind   ,            +moveleft
bind   .            +moveright
bind   DEL            +lookdown
bind   PGDN         +lookup
bind   END            centerview
bind   z            +lookdown
bind   a            +lookup

bind   d            +moveup
bind   c            +movedown
bind   SHIFT         +speed
bind   CTRL         +attack
bind   UPARROW         +forward
bind   DOWNARROW      +back
bind   LEFTARROW      +left
bind   RIGHTARROW      +right

bind   SPACE         +jump
bind   ENTER         +jump

bind   TAB            +showscores

bind   1            "impulse 1"
bind   2            "impulse 2"
bind   3            "impulse 3"
bind   4            "impulse 4"
bind   5            "impulse 5"
bind   6            "impulse 6"
bind   7            "impulse 7"
bind   8            "impulse 8"

bind   0            "impulse 0"

bind   /            "impulse 10"      // change weapon



// Function keys
bind   F1         "help"
bind   F2         "menu_save"
bind   F3         "menu_load"
bind   F4         "menu_options"
bind   F5         "menu_multiplayer"
bind   F6         "echo Quicksaving...; wait; save quick"
bind   F9         "echo Quickloading...; wait; load quick"
bind   F10         "quit"
bind    F12                     "screenshot"

// mouse options
bind   \            +mlook

//
// client environment commands
//
bind   PAUSE         "pause"
bind   ESCAPE      "togglemenu"
bind   ~            "toggleconsole"
bind   `            "toggleconsole"

bind   t            "messagemode"

bind   +            "sizeup"
bind   =            "sizeup"
bind   -            "sizedown"

bind   INS         +klook

//
// mouse buttons
//
bind   MOUSE1      +attack
bind   MOUSE2      +forward
bind   MOUSE3      +mlook

//
// default cvars
//
viewsize       100
gamma          1.0
volume          0.7
sensitivity    3

_________________
Here is Toyo_MR2, lying broken at my feet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 5:49 pm
Posts: 49
Wow fuzz, you got a lot of redundancy in there. Why do you need enter and space for jump? Also why don't you have +mlook on all the time? I can't even tell where you put your hand on the keyboard for movement. Here is my config:


Code:
+mlook
crosshair 1
viewsize 100
fov 90

bind ` "toggleconsole"
bind enter "messagemode"
bind backspace "messagemode2"

bind x "impulse 1"
bind v "impulse 2"
bind w "impulse 3"
bind g "impulse 4;wait;impulse 5"
bind a "impulse 6"
bind r "impulse 7"

alias +lg "impulse 8;+attack"
alias -lg "impulse 7;-attack"

bind mouse1 +attack
bind mouse2 +lg

bind e +forward
bind d +back
bind s +moveleft
bind f +moveright
bind z +movedown
bind space +jump

//client settings
cl_bobup 0
cl_bob 0
cl_rollangle 0
cl_upspeed 500
cl_backspeed 500
cl_forwardspeed 500
cl_sidespeed 500
cl_rollangle 0
cl_rollspeed 0
r_waterwarp 0
r_drawviewmodel 0
v_kicktime 0
lookstrafe 0
lookspring 0

//mouse settings
m_filter 1
m_pitch -0.022

scr_conspeed 999999999


I also use proquake and/or qrack, both of which support a variable pq_moveup which maps your +jump button to +moveup while underwater. this is very useful since +moveup only works while in water (or flying in runequake), and +moveup is faster (it also makes no sound!) than using +jump while in water.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:27 pm
Posts: 214
Here's my config.cfg file. I got two configs:

Code:
bind "TAB" "+showscores"
bind "ENTER" "+jump"
bind "ESCAPE" "togglemenu"
bind "SPACE" "+jump"
bind "+" "sizeup"
bind "," "+moveleft"
bind "-" "sizedown"
bind "." "+moveright"
bind "/" "impulse 10"
bind "0" "impulse 31"
bind "1" "impulse 1"
bind "2" "impulse 2"
bind "3" "impulse 3"
bind "4" "impulse 4"
bind "5" "impulse 5"
bind "6" "impulse 6"
bind "7" "impulse 7"
bind "8" "impulse 8"
bind "9" "impulse 30"
bind "=" "sizeup"
bind "[" "impulse 33"
bind "\" "+mlook"
bind "]" "impulse 32"
bind "`" "fvf_chat;toggleconsole"
bind "a" "+moveleft"
bind "c" "rune-tell"
bind "d" "+moveright"
bind "e" "impulse 6"
bind "f" "impulse 8"
bind "q" "impulse 7"
bind "r" "impulse 10"
bind "s" "+back"
bind "t" "fvf_chat;messagemode"
bind "v" "say_team at %l with h%h and a%h"
bind "w" "+forward"
bind "x" "rune-use"
bind "z" "rune-delete"
bind "~" "toggleconsole"
bind "BACKSPACE" "rune-delete"
bind "UPARROW" "+forward"
bind "DOWNARROW" "+back"
bind "LEFTARROW" "+left"
bind "RIGHTARROW" "+right"
bind "ALT" "+strafe"
bind "CTRL" "+attack"
bind "SHIFT" "+speed"
bind "F1" "help"
bind "F2" "menu_save"
bind "F3" "menu_load"
bind "F4" "menu_options"
bind "F5" "menu_multiplayer"
bind "F6" "echo Quicksaving...; wait; save quick"
bind "F9" "echo Quickloading...; wait; load quick"
bind "F10" "quit"
bind "F12" "screenshot"
bind "INS" "+klook"
bind "DEL" "+lookdown"
bind "PGDN" "+lookup"
bind "END" "centerview"
bind "MOUSE1" "+attack"
bind "MOUSE2" "+hook"
bind "MOUSE3" "+jump"
bind "PAUSE" "pause"
joystick "0"
pq_smoothcam "1"
pq_moveup "1"
pq_noweapons "no weapons"
pq_weapons "SSG:NG:SNG:GL:RL:LG"
pq_ring "eyes"
pq_pent "pent"
pq_quad "quad"
pq_needrox "I need rockets"
pq_haverl "I have RL"
pq_needrl "I need RL"
m_side "0.8"
m_forward "1"
m_yaw "0.022"
m_pitch "0.022000"
sensitivity "8.500000"
lookstrafe "0"
lookspring "0"
cl_backspeed "999"
cl_forwardspeed "999"
_cl_color "0.000000"
_cl_name "Fuzznut_tu"
_snd_mixahead "0.1"
bgmvolume "1.000000"
volume "0.7"
gl_triplebuffer "1"
viewsize "100.000000"
_windowed_mouse "0"
vid_stretch_by_2 "1"
vid_config_y "600"
vid_config_x "800"
_vid_default_mode_win "3"
_vid_default_mode "0"
_vid_wait_override "0"
vid_nopageflip "0"
_config_modem_hangup "AT H"
_config_modem_init ""
_config_modem_clear "ATZ"
_config_modem_dialtype "T"
_config_com_modem "1"
_config_com_baud "57600"
_config_com_irq "4"
_config_com_port "0x3f8"
gl_subdivide_size "512"
saved4 "0"
saved3 "0"
saved2 "0"
saved1 "0"
savedgamecfg "0"
gamma "0.900000"
crosshair "1"

_________________
Here is Toyo_MR2, lying broken at my feet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2008 11:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:17 am
Posts: 196
Do not jump from one config to the other, use one consistently or make it work with all the mods and stick with it. That is the true way to make steady progress and build skill with it and also to not confuse yourself going back and forth. Overall, a very bad idea.:)

I worked on my config until now which is in a beyond perfect final state and pimped out beyond the max. ;) It is universal, it works with any mod, specifically RuneQuake, CTF, DM, RA and CA+. If you want it throw me a PM. Consider yourself very special because I give it to no one, it is my own work. It also contains all variables set to their optimum values for GLPRO. Which means, I went through all the console commands and set everything to their best value pertaining to the performance of the game. It is WASD and also tremendously extremely tightly organized.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 4:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:27 pm
Posts: 214
Well those are on the same install. I don't switch back and forth. they are just there. :|

_________________
Here is Toyo_MR2, lying broken at my feet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 11:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:17 am
Posts: 196
The 1st and 2nd configurations do not posses the same movement keys.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 5:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:27 pm
Posts: 214
Paradise wrote:
The 1st and 2nd configurations do not posses the same movement keys.



I think one is for online Quake and one is for when I'm not online. I dunno, it's Baker's Prolauncher chop-job. :P

_________________
Here is Toyo_MR2, lying broken at my feet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: PIMP MY CONFIG!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 11:27 pm
Posts: 214
How do I bind alt weapon on/off to a key?

_________________
Here is Toyo_MR2, lying broken at my feet.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group