Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:55 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: version 0.15 build 1329 released
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 8:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
http://joequake.quake1.net/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
Cool! I'll have to check that out.

Thanks, Jozsef!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 5:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:56 pm
Posts: 1
It compiles and runs in Gentoo Linux :P

However, I did have to change the -O6 in Makefile.linux to -O0, otherwise the OpenGL screen would barely refresh, producing a slight hall-of-mirrors effect. This is with gcc-3.4.5 and a Geforce 6800. Perhaps this change should be made in the source?

_________________
Gentoo Linux Joequake ebuild


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 2:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
The new version looks great and it so nice not have the ping/scoreboard issue. More later ...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:10 am
Posts: 76
Location: Portugal
hey Jozsef thks for keeping your client alive!!! i still use it for single player a lot eheheh

_________________
http://trinca.no.sapo.pt


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
This is a great release and will be used by many. My favorite feature in 0.15 is being able to use the maps menu in deathmatch mode and get the CHANGELEVEL translation.

And thanks once again, Jozsef for all your effort to maintain a software build for JoeQuake despite the fact software isn't as cool as GL. I know far to many people that can't use GL either due to their video card or driver issues, I hate to see software people left out.

Image

Server list menu in multiplayer setup

Image

Name Maker

Image

And, just because I was trying to some weird Quake tricks yesterday, I had left show_speed 1 so that bar is on most of the screens.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 12:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
And maybe someday Jozsef will share that blue character set with us :D :D :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 4:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 1:06 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Denmark
I don't know if anyone else has stumbled over this, but in the menu if you're in a certain folder and you ALT+TAB out of Quake and delete the folder, you'll find the folder missing from the menu (which it is meant to be of course), but now you can't use ENTER to go back to the previous menus. You need to exit Quake and load it up again for the menu to work properly again.

Is any of this making any sense? :D

_________________
http://www.speeddemosarchive.com/quake
http://www.theplayoffs.dk


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 4:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
Hey, Jozsef ... I just want to say thanks for all the great work you've put into JoeQuake 0.15.

The small touches makes this thing wonderful, including all the small things ...

*) Mouse sensitivity slider goes up to sensitivity 11
*) The really well thought out default.cfg, that had to be a ton of planning
*) Maps menu does changelevel if in deathmatch mode
*) The key setup
*) The software build ... really matters a lot. WinQuakers need a better WinQuake that has a server list, name maker, maps menu, demos menu too.
*) Ability to set certain commandline parameters in-game

I'm doing a fresh break-in in a clean Quake folder to try to build the right kind of installer.

A couple of small things I noticed, and these are no big deal ...

1) With -dinput, pressing mouse1 or mouse2 in Options-Customize Controls doesn't do anything. This may be normal for -dinput or unavoidable. I'm a dinput user and it was the first thing I noticed when breaking in a fresh install with a clean install of Quake.

2) Always run would be better to set cl_forwardspeed 999, cl_sidespeed 999, cl_backspeed 999 if possible. When you do always run, you still aren't moving left/right at max speed because cl_sidespeed is 350.

3) JoeQuake seems slower connecting to a server than ProQuake ... maybe doing what ProQuake did ....

ProQuake wrote:
When the client first connects to a server, it does a reverse DNS lookup on the server IP address. This serves no purpose, takes up to 20 seconds in some cases, and can prevent certain clients from connecting to certain servers altogether. The code has simply been commented out, resulting in MUCH faster connect times.


Other than that, all my other stuff would be small wishlist stuff (lite team say stuff "Say-team 'I am at %L with %A armor and %H" ... using Quakeworld locs, console not moving to end when you get a new message when you've paged up ...) and I don't want to trouble you with that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 5:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 6:10 am
Posts: 76
Location: Portugal
hey Jozsef in some maps that have feast frags like Quad power i have somes packetoverflows and in fitzquake ang Bengt glquake i dont have it!!! is there any way to fix that? or a cmd line?

_________________
http://trinca.no.sapo.pt


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group