Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ingame server browser
PostPosted: Sun Apr 30, 2006 5:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:34 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Vancouver USA
I was wondering if you could implement a master server list
for a ingame browser?

Have a master server file which defaults to localhost.
But you can add dns/ip to for searching for a master server list
for the ingame server browser?

Have favorites which is the default server file
and Internet which would point to a server holding
the master server file.

What do you think?

_________________
Image
[img]http://www.gamestatus.net/sig/q1/[pK]c3re4lK1lL4.png[/img]
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:34 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Vancouver USA
no takers?

_________________
Image
[img]http://www.gamestatus.net/sig/q1/[pK]c3re4lK1lL4.png[/img]
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:27 pm
Posts: 33
Location: Bristol, UK
The problem is that Quake doesn't use a "master server" system like Q3 and other more modern games do.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
Lardarse wrote:
The problem is that Quake doesn't use a "master server" system like Q3 and other more modern games do.


Jackhole kind of has that covered :D

http://www.quake1.net/qspy.txt


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 1:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:34 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Vancouver USA
Thats why I am asking Joe if he could try such a thing.
There is lots of server lists as Baker has pointed out. :)

_________________
Image
[img]http://www.gamestatus.net/sig/q1/[pK]c3re4lK1lL4.png[/img]
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 114
i've been desperately awaiting such a feature for ages.
here's one idea
the server browser we have on quakeone.com uses qstat to poll all the busy US servers at a regular interval, then saves it in a data file, which a php script reads for display on the site. rather than the engine running a test on each server maybe it would be easir for it just to read a date file like that off a webserver?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group