Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Sun Aug 20, 2017 6:59 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: joequake slow on my comp
PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2007 7:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
Why is JoeQuake so slow on my computer. I have an AMD 5000+ Dual Core processor and nVidia 7300LE video card. JoeQuake on my computer at high quality setting runs at 40-60 FPS. I know it is capped at 72 but why is my running that slowly? I heard some people had their's always running at 72 but if the frames were limitless, it would be about 500. I need help. Thank you :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
what makes you think that 40-60 fps? show_fps 1? what is your monitor's refresh rate? probably fps is capped becoz of that. try vid_vsync 0.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
I am running at 640 x 480 x 32 resolution. I used the show_fps 1 command. My monitor's refresh rate 75 Hz. I will try vid_vsync 0. Does it turn of vertical sync?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 2:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
yep it turns off vsync. But you should've got the maximum 72 fps on 75 hz anyways so vsync won't help you... hmm. I wonder what could cause such a huge performance loss.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
i turned of vsync and performance did not change. It stayed the same. how do you change refresh rate. like this: +set vid_displayfrequency 75.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:44 pm
Posts: 198
Is JoeQuake the only game that is giving you performance problems or do you see this with other games? If that latter, verify that you have the necessary graphic driver and that hardware acceleration is set to full.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
For some reason all of my games run absolutely horrible on my computer. Performance gets worser and worser each day. All my drivers ar updated to the latest software. How do you change hardware acceleration to full?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 7:44 pm
Posts: 198
You can't logically assume there is a problem with JoeQuake if all your games run poorly.

If you are using Windows, right click on your desktop and select "properties". Click the "Settings" tab. Click the "Advanced" tab. Click the "Troubleshoot" tab. Make sure hardware acceleration is set to full.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 8:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: Ohio
*cough* spyware or virus */cough*

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
toyo: My hardware acceleration is at full.
Baker: Can I just scan my pc with my installed Norton Anti Virus? Or do I have to use just that?

EDIT - I scan and deleted all of the spyware/adware stuff on my pc, but performance did not change


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 4:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 3:34 pm
Posts: 35
Location: Vancouver USA
What op sys?

_________________
Image
[img]http://www.gamestatus.net/sig/q1/[pK]c3re4lK1lL4.png[/img]
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 10
Windows XP Media Center Edition 2002


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group