Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Sun Jul 21, 2024 3:24 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: JoeQuake Record Feature + MM1/MM2 length
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Joe, a couple of really convenient features that would be nice to see in the next JoeQuake:

1) Increasing the length of messagemode like ProQuake has (Toyo requested this). I think 32 is the current length and ProQuake does 44. It's nice because you can type more.

2) Make it so you can type RECORD MYDEMO on the fly when connected to a multiplayer game (like ProQuake).

Doing the "disconnect; record mydemo; connect totalquake.essentrix.net" thing in the console to record a demo is inconvenient ... who knows why they made Quake do that.

EXTRA CREDIT

Make it so if you type RECORD without specifying a filename that JoeQuake automatically names the demo E1M1-Jan-01-2003-150000.dem ... that would be cool.

Format: Map code - MMM - DD - YYYYY - then the time in military format (like how 15:00:00 is 3 PM, except don't do the colons because I don't think those are allowed in file names).

Happy Holidays Joe ... thanks for all the time you invested in making a really cool NetQuake.
:P

_________________
quake.shmack.net:26000 = RQ, 26001 = Rocket Arena, 26002 = Vote-Anything
quake.ihoc.net, Rockets/jet/7 runes
quake.singed.net, RQ on E1M7
http://www.GameStatus.Net stats, http://www.GameAholic.Net Q1 servers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
Quote:
1) Increasing the length of messagemode like ProQuake has (Toyo requested this). I think 32 is the current length and ProQuake does 44. It's nice because you can type more.


I've added this in the latest build. I didn't try it though. Could you pls try it if it works...?

Quote:
2) Make it so you can type RECORD MYDEMO on the fly when connected to a multiplayer game (like ProQuake).


Okay, I'm gonna add this

Quote:
Make it so if you type RECORD without specifying a filename that JoeQuake automatically names the demo E1M1-Jan-01-2003-150000.dem ... that would be cool.


heh, autorecording :)
all right, I can add this too.

Btw, you might noticed that I haven't added much ProQuake features compared to v0.13R3. The reason is that sputnikutah told me he was working on his own engine, derived from JoeQuake, and at the time we spoke, he already had many-many net based features compared to the few ones I built in. So then I decided to work on other stuffs for JoeQuake instead of the net code, and added Nehahra compatibility, which is the main feature of this newest build.
I hope sputnikutah will show up again on the board and tell us how his work's going... :)

Happy holidays to you all as well.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 2:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Short list of some other things you might consider adding in next one:

1) Make it so typing "connect quake.shmack.net:26001" can be done instead of having to do "port 26001; connect quake.shmack.net". (ProQuake tweak).

2) Maybe add IEEE's idea of being able to select a custom map (.BSP files only, I wouldn't worry about maps in a pak file) via a menu just like your demo menu.

I like the demo menu beyond what words can describe. I think it is great. It would be excellent to be able to do that with maps too.

3) Ambitious, but this would be a real triumph ... cause JoeQuake to cause Windows to file associate .dem and .dz files with JoeQuake so that double clicking a demo file will automatically start JoeQuake and play a given demo.

I know that is somewhat complicated, but this is just an idea and if it doesn't seem worth the trouble I would certainly understand.

Code:
Rough thoughts on #3

It would require that JoeQuake do a Windows registry entry to associate .dem and .dz files on startup unless a jq_nofileassociate flag was set to 1.   

Additionally it could be a little troublesome to determine how a file association could invoke JoeQuake in a way to cause it to run the demo.


Again, these are just ideas, especially #3. :P

_________________
quake.shmack.net:26000 = RQ, 26001 = Rocket Arena, 26002 = Vote-Anything
quake.ihoc.net, Rockets/jet/7 runes
quake.singed.net, RQ on E1M7
http://www.GameStatus.Net stats, http://www.GameAholic.Net Q1 servers


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 6:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
Quote:
1) Make it so typing "connect quake.shmack.net:26001" can be done instead of having to do "port 26001; connect quake.shmack.net". (ProQuake tweak).


this is already built in. I forgot to mention in the new features list, but I've added this previously when I ported plenty of things from ProQuake. I've just tried it out, and it worked for me.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group