Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:44 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hey Joe!
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 3:48 am 

Where are you going with that gun in your hand?

Hahah...you never heard that one before. (Right!)

Anyway, I have a question. I'm not a techie when it comes to video settings and drivers and all that stuff, but I've got an annoying issue with Joequake. Gamma. Now, in the old GL Quake there was no way around it (that I know of), I had to adjust the gamma for OpenGL with some driver-tweak program. When JoeQuake came, I didn't need to. I could set gl_gamma to like 0.4 and everything would be bright and nice. No need to change anything in the gfx card drivers.

Now I've gone and done a couple of things, and they somehow have affected this. I upgraded to the last JoeQuake release, and I upgraded the Videocard drivers and I run dual monitor set-up now. And now it seems random whether JoeQuake will start bright or dark. Funny thing is that I can start JoeQuake (it's dark), quit and restart JoeQuake (still dark), and after maybe 6-7 tries, suddenly it's bright. Other times it's bright on first try. Then I can exit and restart, and it's dark again.

When it starts bright I can change gl_gamma on the fly, and have it correctly updated to the value I set. When it starts dark, I cannot change the gamma, it stays dark even if it loads with the gl_gamma 0.4 setting. I just wondered if something has changed in the last JoeQuake release, of if the newer catalysts have done something. I've tried reverting to older drivers, and disabling the dual-monitor solution, but to no avail. This annoying little thing is still there.

Thx for a great speedrunning .exe, btw. I've done extensive testing on the 100 meter, and JoeQuake is faster than stock .exes. I dunno why, maybe some extra FPS has sneaked into this exe when it was compiled =)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 3:11 pm