Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:02 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Teamplay Cvar Acts Differently
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
The teamplay cvar seems to behave differently than regular Quake.

Image

Image

Image

In the above screenshots, each client is in listen server mode. Rune Quake uses the teamplay cvar as text (?) and JoeQuake apparently takes the team play value above of "0 Rune Quake 1.1" and turns it into a value of 1.1

The consequence is that I can never turn team play off nor use any of the several team play settings in Rune Quake.

I don't know why the teamplay variable is used in this way, but I suspect it does affect a few other advanced multiplayer mods.

(I have had some troubles with FBCA 0.92 KT + JoeQuake, the Frogbot Clan Arena mod, but I was able to work around these in an admittedly messy way. This mod lets you play some excellent games in listen server mode againsts bots.)

So far I suspect that the maybe the teamplay cvar is not the only one with a different behavior. This may affect noexit, scratch1-4, temp1 and other variables that can be used at a mod author's discretion. It may only affect a listen server, I don't know.

I don't know if this is helpful at all, but I have search results for the team play variable in the JoeQuake source, WinQuake source and ProQuake source: (This really isn't my department ;) )

JoeQuake Source matches wrote:
Searching for: teamplay
cvar.h(47): teamplay = cvar("teamplay");
host.c(69): cvar_t teamplay = {"teamplay", "0", false, true};
host.c(220): Cvar_RegisterVariable (&teamplay);
host_cmd.c(789): if (teamplay.value && teamonly && client->edict->v.team != save->edict->v.team)
menu.c(3629): M_Print (0, 72, " Teamplay");
menu.c(3634): switch ((int)teamplay.value)
menu.c(3650): switch ((int)teamplay.value)
menu.c(3762): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", teamplay.value + dir);
menu.c(3763): if (teamplay.value > count)
menu.c(3764): Cvar_Set ("teamplay", "0");
menu.c(3765): else if (teamplay.value < 0)
menu.c(3766): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", count);
pr_cmds.c(1283): if (tr.ent && tr.ent->v.takedamage == DAMAGE_AIM && (!teamplay.value || ent->v.team <= 0 || ent->v.team != tr.ent->v.team))
pr_cmds.c(1301): if (teamplay.value && ent->v.team > 0 && ent->v.team == check->v.team)
progdefs.h(35): float teamplay;
sbar.c(857): if (rogue && (cl.maxclients != 1) && (teamplay.value > 3) && (teamplay.value < 7))
server.h(175): extern cvar_t teamplay;
Found 17 occurrence(s) in 8 file(s)


ProQuake matches wrote:
Searching for: teamplay
cvar.h(46): teamplay = cvar("teamplay");
host.c(49): cvar_t teamplay = {"teamplay","0",false,true};
host.c(244): Cvar_RegisterVariable (&teamplay)
host_cmd.c(593): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", 0)
host_cmd.c(1005): if (teamplay.value && teamonly) // JPG - added () for mm
host_cmd.c(1032): if (teamplay.value && teamonly && client->edict->v.team != save->edict->v.team
menu.c(2218): M_Print (0, 72, " Teamplay")
menu.c(2222): switch((int)teamplay.value
menu.c(2237): switch((int)teamplay.value
menu.c(2336): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", teamplay.value + dir)
menu.c(2337): if (teamplay.value > count
menu.c(2338): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", 0)
menu.c(2339): else if (teamplay.value < 0
menu.c(2340): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", count)
pr_cmds.c(1369): && (!teamplay.value || ent->v.team <=0 || ent->v.team != tr.ent->v.team) )
pr_cmds.c(1388): if (teamplay.value && ent->v.team > 0 && ent->v.team == check->v.team)
progdefs.q1(15): float teamplay;
progdefs.q2(16): float teamplay;
sbar.c(822): (teamplay.value>3) &
sbar.c(823): (teamplay.value<7)
server.h(215): extern cvar_t teamplay;
WinQuake.ncb(1045): †
Found 22 occurrence(s) in 10 file(s)


WinQuake matches wrote:
Searching for: teamplay
cvar.h(46): teamplay = cvar("teamplay");
GLQUAKE.EXE(2924): I¾numverts = %i
GLQUAKE.EXE(3059):
host.c(48): cvar_t teamplay = {"teamplay","0",false,true};
host.c(181): Cvar_RegisterVariable (&teamplay)
host_cmd.c(539): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", 0)
host_cmd.c(931): if (teamplay.value && teamonly && client->edict->v.team != save->edict->v.team
menu.c(2183): M_Print (0, 72, " Teamplay")
menu.c(2187): switch((int)teamplay.value
menu.c(2202): switch((int)teamplay.value
menu.c(2301): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", teamplay.value + dir)
menu.c(2302): if (teamplay.value > count
menu.c(2303): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", 0)
menu.c(2304): else if (teamplay.value < 0
menu.c(2305): Cvar_SetValue ("teamplay", count)
pr_cmds.c(1353): && (!teamplay.value || ent->v.team <=0 || ent->v.team != tr.ent->v.team) )
pr_cmds.c(1372): if (teamplay.value && ent->v.team > 0 && ent->v.team == check->v.team)
progdefs.q1(15): float teamplay;
progdefs.q2(16): float teamplay;
sbar.c(724): (teamplay.value>3) &
sbar.c(725): (teamplay.value<7)
server.h(198): extern cvar_t teamplay;
WinQuake.ncb(1238):
Found 23 occurrence(s) in 11 file(s)


What would be nice is if somehow I am doing something wrong.

Mod: Standard RuneQuake 1.1a download ( ftp://ftp.runecentral.com/quake/runequa ... e-1.1a.zip ) and using no autoexec.cfg

The teamplay variable should be "0 Rune Quake 1.1" (team mode off) but is "1.1" (team mode on)

Nothing special for a command line:
c:\quake\joequake-gl.exe -width 320 -height 240 -dinput -mem 32 -game runequake -window -listen 8


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Update: I took the Rune Quake source, removed the text added to the cvar, recompiled and have avoided the problem.

The behavior is still different, but for me it has become one of life's little curiosities. It does affect RuneQuake and I believe it affects FBCA, but not my versions ;) and therefore no one that uses the JoeQuake Launcher once it is completed.

I think the intent behind that teamplay with the Rune Quake text originated back in the ancient days to distinguish that the team play mode was not the same as ID team play modes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
If I wasn't somehow messing something up with 1.1a, RuneQuake 0.6 operates as expected with JoeQuake in listen server mode regarding the team-play variable.

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group