Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Fri Aug 14, 2020 6:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Textures, HUD and Weapon skins discussion
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
I hope others contribute their knowledge to this as well because I'm only 1 guy :D

Image

I'll start with the red lightning gun (which I made ;) )

Image

To install the red lightning gun skin: RIGHT CLICK the picture immediately above and do .... "Save As" or "Save Picture As" and put it in c:\quake\joequake\textures\models

Now joequake-gl.exe will be using the red lightning gun.

Image

To use gold rocket launcher, right click and do "Save As" and put it in c:\quake\joequake\textures\models

You will now have a gold rocket launcher in joequake-gl.exe

Problems? wrote:
Note: You must be using the standard ID Software normal Quake lightning gun and rocket launcher in the above examples. If you are using some lightning gun that isn't the normal one, this won't skin it properly and it will look all wrong.

If this is the case *cough* Yellow's Texture Pack*cough* , delete your non-normal-Quake lightning gun model c:\quake\joequake\progs\v_light.mdl and non-normal-Quake rocket launcher c:\quake\joequake\progs\v_rock2.mdl

If you are using an extra pak file with weapon models and such -- like a pak2.pak in c:\quake\id1 or a pak1.pak in c:\quake\joequake -- may the Chthon have mercy on your soul because I'm not going there :D :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
Thanks Baker :)

Now i know how to use these models without that screwing up effect by the way i wanna get my hands on the joequake launcher so it will be much easier to launch the game with settings, can you obtain this for me plz?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2005 2:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Ranger wrote:
Thanks Baker :)

Now i know how to use these models without that screwing up effect by the way i wanna get my hands on the joequake launcher so it will be much easier to launch the game with settings, can you obtain this for me plz?


I am presently working on the JoeQuake Launcher. :D :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
Baker, Everything is working good except one thing: The weapon model may be changed but the weapon pick up hasn't :( the rocket launcher still looks brown but when you pick it up it is the gold rocket launcher. Is their a g_rock2_0 file somewhere?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
There are very few ground replacement models that look good. There are some that exist.

You can try these:

http://www.kolumbus.fi/ruohis/models.htm


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
http://s91840528.onlinehome.us/huds/hudsets.zip
Image

There are 5 HUDS in this archive file.

HUD elements go in quake\joequake\textures\gfx (quake\qrack\textures\gfx) OR

and can optionally be placed in quake\id1\textures\gfx which will affect both JoeQuake, QRack and any other HUD replacement supporting clients.

There are preview screenshots for each HUD set in the archive.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 11:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
Erm Dude the links broken :?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Corrected link.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:34 pm 
Offline
quake.intertex.net
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2003 7:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: Kansas City!
OMG baker that looks so F***'n cool!
And here i thought you were an acountant!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 6:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
How can I resize the quake icons (head, ammo, armor, etc) to match yours?

http://www.geocities.com/d_smith1011/quake.bmp

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
The screenshots above used 50% console resolution.

Example:

c:\quake\joequake-gl.exe -width 640 -height 480 -conwidth 320 -conheight 240

or at higher resolution ...

c:\quake\joequake-gl.exe -width 1024 -height 768 -conwidth 512 -conheight 384


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
:mrgreen: i'd like to thank Baker for all the nice help he's doing for Joequake, he has made several installers such as the Quake Retexturing Project Double Resolution Pack, Wood's CTF Pack, Qrack 1.53 and The Aerowalk Texture Pack. And even now Baker is still working on a Joequake Launcher :D so we should thank Baker for all the nice things he's doing for Joequake 8)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
This is probably just his hobby right now when he doesn't feel like earning $$$, so him getting joequake updated and functional must be good enough to make him smile.

None the less, thanks for the purdy graphics but I do want lava/slime steam :evil:

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group