Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Sat Aug 15, 2020 9:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bad Ass In-Game Help Replacement Graphics
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
I made some replacement help file graphics after remembering just how useless the "help" is in Quake. I've seen some mods make replace the help graphics with actual useful information.

These helpfiles are not neutral replacements, they are centered around the mindset of the several hundred players that play on the servers most of the multiplayer-types here use, and for casual single player reference and has a list of servers that isn't so helpful for non-USA/Canada players.

I'd be happy to make more generalized help replacements, and I'll make one for QRack as well.

Comments, feedback, improvement thoughts are welcomed.

(below pictures are JPEGs = not crisp, the real thing are TGAs which aren't internet capable).

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I forgot to add how with JoeQuake you can make a cool Quake name by holding down the CTRL key, but since the next JoeQuake will have that awesome name maker it doesn't really matter.

The color chart was borrowed from Megazoid's table, I'm sure he doesn't mind.

Note: This is limited to 6 graphics as that is the number of help pages in Quake.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
:shock: bloody hell that looks awesome! and it's all in the help menu?
but whats Singed.net and Quakeboard.net?

Also does Joequake have a fog option cause i was playing Nehahra and no fog :( it'll be nice to see it in the next version also what about rain and weather effects?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Singed.net is where a lot of the players who play on the servers here "hang out", chat, etc. QuakeBoard.net is a player forum based around the quake.ihoc.net server.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
Baker wrote:
Singed.net is where a lot of the players who play on the servers here "hang out", chat, etc. QuakeBoard.net is a player forum based around the quake.ihoc.net server.


You didn't answer my question about fog :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
I don't know the answer for sure. I think I've seen fog in Nehahra with JoeQuake but can't reproduce the result but this could be because I'm not using the right fmod.dll or maybe JoeQuake, in fact, doesn't do the fog.

I know I've seen the rain and snow effects.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 1:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 02, 2005 4:41 am
Posts: 18
Just add the "-nehahra" option.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
yes, there is fog if you play nehahra. It is used internally from the nehahra pak when playing demos, but you can turn it on by yourself either via the following variable:
gl_fogenable 1
gl_fogdensity sets the fog's density, it's 0.8 by default.
there are also gl_fogred, gl_foggreen and gl_fogblue to set the amount of the colors, all are 0.3 by default.

Sorry for not mentioning this anywhere, I totally forgot about it after I made JQ nehahra-compatible.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 5:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
I like how fvf.servequake.com isn't in the server list. It's pretty active. You guys have something against Gunter the wierdo?

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 15, 2005 11:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Canadian*Sniper wrote:
I like how fvf.servequake.com isn't in the server list. It's pretty active. You guys have something against Gunter the wierdo?


I labelled it beta and asked for feedback, didn't I? -- heh :D

Baker aka the guy who mercilessly hook-kills Canadian Sniper --- not that I don't do that to everyone else too. :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 4:58 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
You find that I'm just F***ing around in rune quake. I hardly use weapons and just experiment with runes. Not all the time though.

Playing me on RA is a different story :) hook and runes can't protect you there! I suck anyways

btw- wuts ur alias in quake Baker? Don't recall seeing you

EDIT: plus trinicom is dead

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 114
Baker's in game alias is cookiemonster although sometimes he goes by lit*nonpoint or somethine like that.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
yellow#5 wrote:
Baker's in game alias is cookiemonster although sometimes he goes by lit*nonpoint or somethine like that.


Don't believe Bastard #5.

I either play as Green Guy or anonymously depending on how serious I am about playing.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 1:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 114
:P


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2005 7:44 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 4:48 am
Posts: 392
Location: Hey look! Secret Message!!!!
"For a player named Green Guy, you aren't very grean" remember me now? hehe

_________________
If you see me online, say Hi :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 1:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 12:47 pm
Posts: 61
Location: England
Jozsef wrote:
yes, there is fog if you play nehahra. It is used internally from the nehahra pak when playing demos, but you can turn it on by yourself either via the following variable:
gl_fogenable 1
gl_fogdensity sets the fog's density, it's 0.8 by default.
there are also gl_fogred, gl_foggreen and gl_fogblue to set the amount of the colors, all are 0.3 by default.

Sorry for not mentioning this anywhere, I totally forgot about it after I made JQ nehahra-compatible.


I think it says these commands don't exist in the console :? but i'll check again. You need to fix another big issue with Nehahra, the console command "playmod" doesn't work :cry: this allows you to the music that comes with nehahra but it says the command doesn't exist.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2005 2:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
*sigh*

it does exist, and it does work, just start the game with -nehahra


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group