Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 6:21 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How to put this in a pak file?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
I took a file and reduced it to 256 colors. (The above image is 256 colors now, despite the PNG format. I could turn it into any 256 color format with no color loss).

Question how do I get this into a new pak file? What format and name and folder must it go into.

I'd like this charset to load without having to load without using a command in JoeQuake. Just need assistance figuring out how to get in a pak.


Last edited by Baker on Thu Jun 09, 2005 1:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 1:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Actually I might have this under control. I'll have to make it fit the Quake palette, I just need a WAD editor and I found one on QuakeTerminus http://www.quaketerminus.com/tools.htm .

That MegaZoid, what a guy ... what a guy!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Nevermind, the conchars is the wrong size. Verdict, impossible. I guess a custom 32 bit charset even if reduce to appropriate palette is still 256 x 256 and the quake charset is 128 x 128.

Can't be done. Hence the loadcharset command in joequake.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:36 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
whats wrong with 128x128 8bpp? Does it look too ugly?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2005 4:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
No, Yellow built a nice texture pack that used a custom charset.

I'm turning it into an easy installer. But I was looking for a way to make it so the custom charset was used without having to use an autoexec.cfg or config.cfg.

Then I noticed I couldn't replace it in the WAD because the size is wrong.

I have a JoeQuake 0.14DEV easy installer for windows built and I am building an easy installer for textures, but I don't want to overwrite someone's existing JoeQuake config so I was looking for a work around to make it in a pak file.

Doesn't appear to be possible since the custom charset was 256x256 and the pcx default charset is 128 x128.

Or am I wrong? If I put a png in a wad file will it work? Can I put a skybox in a wad file?

[I'm just trying to make things newbie friendly. Click it, install it, run it ... no need to learn anything to get it up running and awesome looking.]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 2:09 pm
Posts: 252
Location: Hungary
well, i dont know that editor you're using, but I guess the resolution wouldn't be a problem. The bpp is rather. Lumps in Quake's gfx.wad are all 256 colored, so I think even if the editor would allow you to add, it wasn't work. But try it out, and see if I'm right.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 10, 2005 3:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
I'll give it shot, Joe. I'll do 8 bpp ... I can pull off that trick. I'm just concerned that the orig is 128 x 128 pixels and it'll get confused on a 256 x 256 one being in there.

We'll find out what happens :D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2005 3:06 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 114
Baker's installer currently installs the pak0.pak from sput's joequake pro. My solution is to change the quake.rc in pak0.pak to include:
exec custom.cfg
And then install a custom.cfg in /joequake with such items as gl_consolefont "charset-1" and loadsky "morose"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group