Rune Central

The Official Rune Quake Message Board
It is currently Fri Sep 25, 2020 5:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Team Score Total In ProQuake Status Bar
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2005 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
ProQuake manual wrote:
Teamscores displayed in status bar
----------------------------------

When you connect to a Clanring CRMod++ version 6.0 server running in match
mode, team scores will be displayed in your status bar instead of individual
scores. This feature does not> work with earlier versions of CRMod. You can
enable/disable this feature using the new console variable 'pq_teamscores'.


Would it be easy or hard to have RQ do whatever CRMOD does to make team-scores appear on the status bar when using ProQuake?


Last edited by Baker on Sat Apr 23, 2005 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1233
Location: New Jersey, USA
I actually like the idea of expanding this. Maybe include streak info on the +showscores listing and such. I toyed around with doing this and it seems easy. I'll try to work on this during the weekend, but I can't make any promises as to my progress.

Thanks,

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 1:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Slot Zero wrote:
I actually like the idea of expanding this. Maybe include streak info on the +showscores listing and such. I toyed around with doing this and it seems easy. I'll try to work on this during the weekend, but I can't make any promises as to my progress.

Thanks,


The streak thing would definitely be interesting (although I wonder if that would somehow encourage "overly defensive" play, hehe)

The several team games since the "map ends on team-score" was implement were great, but the lack of team-score awareness (no one knowing the other team was nearing 50 frags) reduced the sense of urgency towards the end.

It was missing the close-and-late factor that is common in regular play where 2 players are close to 50 frags and struggling to make sure they do whatever it takes to get another frag.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 4:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1233
Location: New Jersey, USA
I added the team scores this morning and tested it on port 26000. So far the only known bug is when you turn off team mode, the removal of team scores doesn't refresh the standard colors and it's blank until the level changes, you reconnect, or turn off pq_teamcores. I'll have to figure out a way to fix this.

Also, keep in mind that team scores are not based on your current frags. If you disconnect during a team game, whatever frags you've accumulated for your team stays with the score. This can create some bizarre results, like joining a game where players have 0 visible frags, but the team score is up by 30 points.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 23, 2005 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2003 10:47 pm
Posts: 1612
Location: Ohio
Image

I had 100 screenshots in my Quake folder, I left and moved the files and then, of course, forgot to take a screenshot during real team play during testing.

Anyway, the ProQuake status bar now shows actual team score totals now. Total Red Score and Total Blue Score.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 3:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 7:41 pm
Posts: 1233
Location: New Jersey, USA
Added the command +teamscores (must be bound), which lists all the teams and their scores. This command works in FFA mode as well, for no good reason.

_________________
Slot Zero
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group